Kids Oughta Be Covered! Parents Enroll Your Child Today!

 

Florida KidCare

 

 

Eligibility

 

Florida KidCare is for children, not adults. To qualify for premium assistance, a child must:

  • Be under age 19

  • Be uninsured

  • Meet income eligibility requirements

  • Be a U.S. citizen or qualified non-citizen

  • Not be eligible for Medicaid

  • Not be in a public institution

  • Families who are not eligible for premium assistance may buy Florida KidCare (MediKids or Healthy Kids) at the “full pay” premium rate.

  • Call 1-888-540-5437 for more information.

 

Cost

 

There is no charge for Medicaid for children (KidCare Medicaid). For other Florida KidCare programs, monthly premiums depend on your household’s size and income. Most families pay $15 or $20 a month. If you need to pay more, Florida KidCare will let you know.

Make checks or money orders payable to Florida KidCare. Do not send cash. If your child (or children) is approved for Medicaid or denied coverage, your premium payment will be refunded.

You may have to pay small charges or co-payments for some services. A child who is a member of a federally recognized American Indian or Alaskan Native tribe may qualify for no-cost Florida KidCare coverage.

 

Important Reminder

 

You may apply for Florida KidCare if your child has other health insurance now. We suggest that you keep your child's current health insurance until you receive an approval letter from Florida KidCare letting you know when your child's new Florida KidCare coverage will start. Florida KidCare coverage starts on the first day of the month after you make your first premium payment.

If your Florida KidCare monthly premium is $15 or $20, your child cannot have other health insurance and Florida KidCare coverage at the same time. You will need to cancel your child's other health insurance before their new Florida KidCare coverage starts. This is a federal law. 

 

For more information, contact:

305-592-1452

 

Please reload

News